jump to navigation

Card Plots and Coin Magic July 17, 2008

Posted by mattlee in Ramblings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Erlandish, of “Ye Olde Magick Blogge” fame has compiled a list of almost every card plot known to man. You can find it about 1/4 way down the page on this thread on everyone’s favourite magic forum, the magic cafe. He’ll probably blog about it soon enough, so keep your eyes peeled.

If you look carefully, the sheer variety is staggering. I guess that’s why I don’t really fancy coins – Indeed, I share Derren Brown’s view (mentioned in Devil’s Picturebook DVD) that for coins all the coins do is”appear, disappear, pass from one side to the other, and suddenly for fun, grow very big.” I’m too lazy to pop the DVD in and check, so I’m parapharsing of course, but you get the idea.

However, I think that every aspiring student of magic needs to seriously study coin magic. First of all, its not easy, and teaches patience and practice. Secondly, all the foundation sleights learned in coin magic may be applied to any magic involving small objects – so the practice is never wasted. And lastly, the entire body language of closeup magic may be learned by studying coin magic.

I just came back from 2 big shows (I’m a stagehand) so I am tired. I’ll post again soon, this time I’ll speak more about me and what it is I do. And maybe a little rant about stage magic.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

